FEDERAL COUNCIL FOR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT PATENT POLICY

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE BUILDING

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20230

PATENT BRANCH, OGC DHEW

AUG 20 1976

AUG 25 1976

Belighted John

MEMORANDUM FOR Members of the Committee and the Executive

Subcommittee

From:

Dr. Betsy Ancker-Johnson

Chairman

Subject:

Package Forwarded to OMB

Enclosed is a copy of the Committee project regarding the draft Bill entitled, "Federal Intellectual Property Policy Act of 1976, "forwarded to OMB for official clearance.

The package contains a draft of a speaker letter indicating that the Bill is to be cosponsored by H. Guyford Stever, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, and Elliott L. Richardson, Secretary of Commerce. It is noted that the sponsorship of the Bill is subject to change inasmuch as the Bill could be sponsored by the President or by OSTP or Commerce individually.

The Second item in the package is a draft Statement of Purpose and Need which highlights the history leading to the development of the Bill and the reasons legislation is being sought.

The third and fourth items in the package are the draft Bill itself, as approved by the Committee during the July 27, 1976 meeting, together with a section-by-section analysis thereof.

The package will be sent to the designated legislative liaison officers of your agency by OMB and your cooperation in their consideration of the package is appreciated.

The package is being sent simultaneously to Dr. H. Guyford Stever, in his capacity as Director of the newly-created Office of Science and Technology Policy, for his further consideration and final approval.

I also wish to take this opportunity to thank all of you for your past and continued assistance in developing this draft Bill, the passage of which will resolve a longstanding and very important policy issue.

## Enclosure

#### ADDRESSEES

Committee on Government Patent Policy Members

Philip G. Read, GSA, Vice Chairman James A. Wilderolter, ERDA Dr. Michael Pallansch, USDA Dale R. Babione, DOD Walter Henderson, DOD Alternate Dr. Lowell Harmison, HEW Douglas M. Parker, HUD

Moody R. Tidwell, III, DOI

Bruce B. Wilson, DOJ Joel W. Biller, DOS

Barnett Anceleitz, DOT

C. Richard Boehlert, EPA

S. Neil Hosenball, NASA

Howard K. Shapar, NRC

Thomas F. Engelhardt, NRC Alternate

Charles F. Brown, NSF C. Marshall Dann, PTO

### **Observers**

William C. Bartley, OSTP Hugh E. Witt, OFPP Charles Goodwin, OFPP Alternate

# Executive Subcommittee Members

Robert F. Kempf, NASA Jerry A. Cooke, NRC

James E. Denny, ERDA, Chairman M. Howard Silverstein, USDA Robert B. Ellert, DOC Barry L. Grossman, DOC Alternate Joseph E. Rusz, AF William G. Gapcynski, Army William O. Quesenberry, Navy Norman J. Latker, HEW Donald R. Fraser, DOI Miles F. Ryan, Jr., DOJ Joseph A. Hill, DOJ Alternate Harold P. Deeley, Jr., DOT Benjamin Bochenek, EPA Philip G. Read, GSA

Jay W. Maynard, NRC Alternate John H. Raubitschek, NSF Jesse Lasken, NSF Alternate

### **Observers**

Jan W. Miller, AID
Abraham R. Richstein, AID Alternate
Robert J. Bladergroen, CIA
Robert L. Malech, HUD
Maxwell C. Freudenberg, DSA
Harvey J. Winter, DOS
Walter B. Lockwood, DOS Alternate
Forest D. Montgomery, Treasury
Charles Goodwin, OFPP
Luther A. Marsh, Postal Service
Lewis E. Wallace, TVA

cc: William T. Knox, NTIS
David Ropbins, NBS
William A. Luther, FCC