University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Office of the Chancellor

Swanlund Administration Building 601 East John Street Champaign Illinois 61820

March 27, 1985

Mr. Norman J. Latker 3515 Woodbine Street Chevy Chase, Maryland 20015

Dear Mr. Latker:

We are delighted to advise you that the Board of Trustees took formal action at its meeting on March 21, 1985, to award you the honorary degree of Doctor of Fine Arts.

We have a room reserved for you and your wife at the Illini Union for the nights of May 18 and 19. If additional nights are needed we will be glad to make the necessary arrangements.

If you would like us to obtain your academic costume, we shall be glad to do so. If so, we will need to know your height, weight and cap size.

Chancellor and Mrs. Everhart are planning a luncheon for Sunday, May 19 at which the recipients of honorary degrees will be guests of honor. The Everharts will, of course, want to include as guests any of your friends whom you would like to have invited. We would appreciate having their names at your convenience.

President and Mrs. Ikenberry and Chancellor and Mrs. Everhart are also planning a dinner for Saturday evening, May 18. You will receive separate invitations for the dinner on Saturday night and the luncheon on Sunday.

As your travel plans become firm, please let us know about them and if there is anything we can do to help, we shall be pleased to do so. As the time of the event approaches, I shall contact you with more details.

My office telephone number is (217) 333-8834, and my home phone number is (217) 367-0167.

Sincerely,

Dan R. McClelland

Assistant to the Chancellor and Director of Special Events

c: President Stanley O. Ikenberry Chancellor Thomas E. Everhart

Four nominated to receive honorary degrees at Commencement

Dancer Alwin Nikolais is among four persons recommended to the UI board of trustees to receive honorary degrees at the Urbana-Champaign campus Commencement May 19.

Others to be honored will be E.J. Corey, Sheldon Emery Professor of Chemistry at Harvard University; Norman J. Latker, director of the Office of Federal Management Policy in the U.S. Department of Commerce, and Manfred Mayrhofer, professor of general and Indo-European linguistics at the University of Vienna.

Nikolais, a pioneering force in American modern dance, is characterized as "a supreme innovator, teacher and magician in the theater." His work as a choreographer spans four decades and constitutes a significant body of work. Anna Kisselgoff, dance critic of the New York Times, calls him "a very special choreographer. The proof is no one has succeeded

in doing what he does."

Nikolais has headed the Nikolais Dance Theater since 1953. He and the company were in residence on the Urbana-Champaign campus during the mid-1950s, a time when the company was gaining a national and international reputation. They have since returned to campus to perform on many occasions.

A native of Southington, Conn., Nikolais studied dance with Hanya Holm, Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey, Charles Weidman and Louis Horst, He has taught at many colleges and universities and has received numerous awards and honors for his creative choreography.

Corey is widely recognized as the leading organic chemist of his generation, according to colleagues, who hail his contributions as unique. He has initiated many new areas of research as well as providing elegant solutions to chemical problems of long standing. His research includes the chemistry of prostaglandins, important for medical research; strategies of organic synthesis, and other work in biorganic chemistry and stereochemistry.

Born in Methuen, Mass., Corey received a bachelor's degree in 1948 and a doctorate in 1950 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. During 1952-59 he was a member of the UIUC chemistry department, moving from instructor to assistant professor and then, at the age of

directly to full professor.

In 1959 he joined the Harvard faculty where he was appointed to the Sheldon Emery Professorship in 1965 and chaired the chemistry department during 1965-68. He has been awarded five honorary degrees, including one from Oxford University; has twice held Guggenheim fellowships, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a fellow of the National Academy of Sci-

Latker is cited as a leader who almost singlehandedly brought about fundamental changes in the federal patent system to facilitate technology transfer from federal and university laboratories to the private sector.

A native of Chicago, Latker earned a bachelor's degree in civil engineering in 1953 and a law degree in 1956, from the UI at Urbana-Champaign. The federal office he directs is responsible for identifying problems that would affect the utilization of technology resulting from federally funded research and recommending administrative, legislative or regulatory solutions to those problems.

Before becoming director of FTMP in 1981, Latker was assistant chief counsel for patent research and development in the Small Business Administration, 1979-81, and during 1969-79 was in charge of the patent branch in the Office of the General Counsel of the Department of Health, Education and Welfare.

In 1983 he received the Birch Award from the Society of University Patent Administrators for his contributions to the improvement of technology transfer.

Mayrhofer is considered one of the world's most distinguished authorities in the field of Indo-European linguistics. He is particularly noted for his monumental four-volume etymological dictionary of Sanskrit, a language of great historical significance, especially in the study of Indo-European languages. Scholars have called it a work that has changed the field and will endure well into the next century.

Born in 1926 in Linz, Austria, Mayrhofer earned his Ph.D. at the University of Graz, Austria. He has held a visiting professorship at the University of California at Los Angeles and was nominated for the Collitz Professorship in the 1978 Linguistic Institute of the Linguistics Society of America, held in Urbana. He was unable to accept the professorship, considered the highest honor for a comparative linguist.

Mayrhofer served from 1970-82 as secretary-general of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. He also has been selected for membership in the Royal Danish Academy, the Royal Swedish Academy for Antiquities; Academie des Inscriptions et Belles Lettres, France, and many other European societies.

Nikolais will receive the degree of doctor of fine arts; Corey, the doctor of science; Latker, doctor of laws, and Mayrhofer, doctor of letters.